People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue of whether the people’s behavior is affected by the external forces not by their own making is a contentious one. Whilst each side of the claim has its proponent and opponent, I deem that the role of forces and environment is something inevitable that could shape the behavior of people, because there are many elements, such as mass media, education and cultural values that could influence on the people’s choices, preferences and also behviour.

To begin with, having a brief look at the international statistics we can see that in the recent century the number of educated people surged. Education itself could shape the people’s mind and hence their behavior. A biased education could rein people to think and behave in a particular way apart from whether this bias is plausible or not. For instance, in the middle of 20th century there were some Economics school in US that were just teaching a certain school of taught. An student who inadvertently went to the MIT, for example, would be directed to think as the Neoclassical Economists or one who went to Chicago would be directed in the way a Monetarist think.

The other force that could largely influence on the behavior of the people is the role of mass media in the society. A recent questionnaire showed that majority of the people in the world spend an average of 4 hours for watching TV and about 6-7 hours spending on the others like surfing the internet or social networks. These forces could easily shape the fashion in the society and hence change the behavior of the people. Consider a popular TV channel whose programs are in support of a certain clothing vogue, this popularity could affect on the people’s preferences about their raiment. An other example could be a mass media who tries to teach some certain value to improve the health care in the society by making programs and activities for how people take care of their health or how to treat with their disease. These signlas implicitly would also be an element shaping the people’s behavior.

Furthermore, nations curtural background could be an external force who gradually influence the behavior from childhood. An Islamic nation’s value about drinking may be a force to preclude the society’s behavior towards alchoholic products.

Nonetheles, some could argue that people could not definitely tie themselves to the directed forces. There are some examples like revolutions in the history that people went against the forces in their era. This point is flawed, since the word “behavior” somehow integral the whole societies behavior not only one person and this implies that there should something like waves in the society to direct people towards them.

In conclusion, however, the people’s bahavior is largely influenced by many externatlities affecting them such as cultures, education and mass media.