People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

In western philosophy, there has been a long debate on the inconsistence between the sense of free will in human and the observed determinism in natural science. The existence of free will implicate that human can act differently facing the past events and external forces. However, the natural science posits that everything is governed by the perfect physical law, which preclude the possibility of such free will. While I admit the existence of free will, I believe people have very few control over their behaviors, which are largely determined by innate factors, childhood experience and the society.

First, we need to define what do we mean by external forces. While external forces include family, school and society, which I will discuss later, it also includes forces from inside but still should be considered as external forces. For example, there are people with innate disability and mental issues. These are certainly forces not controlled by themselves. These physical and mental flaws would largely determine how they will live the rest of their lives. They may eat differently, walk differently, sleep differently as opposed of people without these disability or mental issues. They may be forced to go to certain school and take certain occupation. They may be treated differently in different culture and society, and in return, they will be forced to respond to these special attention, no matter they wanted or not. In general, we genetically various people when we born, which largely determined how we live our life.

After we were born, we instantly faced overwhelming external forces such as family, school and society. There are numerous studies on how economic status of parents having great say in child’s behavior in school, which leads to various academic performance. Psychologists found out students had abusing relations with their parents are tended to be bullies in school. People with childhood trauma has more suicide tendency after they grow up. These are influence on people’s mind which further determined people’s action. There are also physical constraints on people which makes free action impossible. These studies on how people with lower economic status have greater obstacles when moving upward in social ladder. They have just enough time to make the ends meet. They physically don’t have the time and energy to gain sophisticated skills, have healthy diet, find high paid job or any other thing other people believe they should do. Another more dramatical example would be slavery. As an African slavery in 1700s, his or her behaviors are mostly controlled by their masters’ willingness. Overall, factors from outside have great impact on us physically and mentally. These impacts rule our behaviors.

However, the word “largely” doesn’t tantamount to solely or completely. My argument doesn’t preclude the existence of free will and its implication. Firstly, we should differentiate between free will and free action. While we mostly don’t have free action, given the existence of external forces, we have free will to determine our behaviors. Secondly, as rare as it is, free will does lead to free actions in some cases. For instance, Hellen Keller, the first deaf-blind person to earn bachelor degree of art, overcomes external forces and lived her life by her will.

To sum up, if we consider our behaviors as equation of one thousand variables, we have no control over most of them. Our genes, family, school and society determined most of our behaviors through our lives. However, in rare cases, the seemly unimportant variable, free will, determines the outcome of the behaviors equation.