People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are many measures which determine how people are behaving, one of them is influencing forces around them. Majority of hoi-polloai people react according to their surrounding environment, which moldes their behavior. For example, elections, education, what people think of other nation's people, and culture are majorly impacted by forces around them.

The elections in any country are considered as independent and educated decision of every person, especially in democratic countries, but it is really happening or it is true for every citizen of the country is questionable. Recent elections, in US demostrated this. The president Donald Trump, had no chances of win before elections result announced, but all of sudden what made him win is a big question in front of whole country. One of the major reason considered is how he invoked different feeling in people, for example, racial discrimination about muslim countries, or immigrants taking away all the jobs, thats why country's graduates are not getting jobs. Many people feel they are effected by one or the other reason, which might have been a cause of his win.

Culture is another example, which is vastly effected by forces, rather than people's own making. For example, in India many emporers came from other countries and ruled. All tried force their culture on people, and thats how they ended up following forced culture instead of their own, and slowly it got blended in their own culture.

If we consider education system, according to statistics 30 out 100 students know what is their passion and only 5 ended up following what their heart says, many time rest of them get effected by their surroundings and what kind of trend is going on or which field has more job oppurtunities.

On the other hand, their are people who doesn't get influenced by forces around them and make their own way, but those people are very less. For example, astronut Kalpna Chawla. She chose aerospace carrier when girls not in this profession. She succeded in the field and set example for others.

Thus, in conclusion, no doubt people use their own instincs to determine their behavior, but if we talk about common people, which are majority, it is hard to say their behavior is untouched by the surrounding forces.