Practice test

One of the most widely discussed topics in news is that of education reform. Considered antiquated and lacking, alternative schools are sprouting up worldwide in an attempt to allure the gifted away from traditional programs. One particular notion that has gained support is requiring all students to study the same nationally assigned curriculum. While it may have benefits, the negatives far outweigh any positives; students have different needs and should not be forced within strict educational confines.

To begin, legislation focused on creating a standard academic guideline will destroy an entire industry: private schools. Private schools and charter schools have become a staple in the education system. Affluent families are willing to spend extra money in order to assure that their children get access to the best education. In turn, these same schools are able to offer scholarships to students with exceptional intellectual abilities but may not be able to afford the cost of attending. Thousands of schools in the United States fall under this category; with a standard curriculum, their value proposition is rendered useless. As a result, an entire industry will be abolished and people will lose jobs.

Furthermore, uniformity in school curriculumlimits students with unique needs. The system may work if all children were alike, but this is certainly not the case. Many students excel or are interested in different subjects. For instance, Phillips Exeter Academy is a private school in the United States that focuses on the youth exceptional in quantitative studies. With an accelerated math focus, their students have gone on to do amazing things. Notable alumni include Mark Zuckerberg (CEO of Facebook) and Jeff Bezos (CEO of Amazon). In a system where students are restricted to the same guidelines as their peers, the truly gifted will have their academic progression inhibited.

Alternatively, an equal academic guideline may better equip students for college admissions. Private schools are able to foster a repuation for intelligence, but small public schools are not afforded such a luxury. Equal strength of schedules in high school may illustrate a better comparison for college admissions to base judgement off of. Regardless, education is about much more than college admittance.

In summary, education is in desperate need for change, but requiring all students to practice the curriculum ignores the specific needs of the student. It may create a leveled playing field, but does not address broader problems.