The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology is irrefutably a boon for our society. Its true that technology has shaped our life completely for good and one cannot deny the benefits of it. From waking up in the morning on the sound of your cell phone alarm, to make breakfast using microwave, to use a car to reach office and using internet in order to connect with outside world, to watch television for entertainment, all are the examples of technological advancements. No one can imagine their life without using one of these as they merely became an integral part of ourselves.

Albeit, there is no doubt that technology has made our lives easier, and as humans our wantonness never mollifies, we always believe in advancements and promotions of the things in our hands. However, its salubrious for the development of mankind, but if we talk about the primary purpose or goal of technological advancements, then curtailing our time seems to be flagrant option. As the technology advances, so do us and in this process we are crucifying our precious time that should be spend with the people we care about and love. Therefore, if the technology helps us increasing our efficiency, it will be directly proportional to get more leisure time and hence, leads to less intricate life.

Furthermore, even if people get some leisure time due to increased efficiency at their work place, some of them are going to spend time with their gadgets, like; video games, smart phones, instead of going out to get mesmerized by some spectacular views, only because they called themselves a gadget freak and using their technical gadgets is what they consider as leisure time. In contrast to this, one can say that technology is not just making people efficient, but addictive. In addition to this, lets say for instance, people are using their leisure time by visiting some marvelous place, although busy with their whatsapp messages and social networking because they want their friends to know about their where about. In all this process, technological advancements comes into picture like how an individual’s leisure time is also not separated from technology’s traps.

To conclude, while technology is profitable in uplifting people’s efficiency at work and in life, it also plays a major role in letting people get some leisure time out from their monotonous and busy schedules. But leisure time can be define as your time to enjoy with your mates and not let your gadgets to be a part of your free time.