The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is no time in the history that technologies are changed and improved more rapidly and dramatically than past several decades. As, nowadays, these technologies generally makes human life more productive and efficient, some people believe that this should be the primary goal when people develop and improve technologies. As far as I am concerned, I totally agree with this point of view.

People who disagree with this statement may argue that, instead of aiming at saving time for people, the development of technologies should aim at enhancing the well-beings of human societies. Admittedly, technologies benefits humans in many aspects and make our life more convenient and enjoyable. With the advent of cars, ferries and flights, people are able to travel around and explore the world. Thanks to the invention of computer and the Internet, people can search for a variety of information any time from anywhere. It cannot be denied that these innovations contribute a lot to our well-being. Close scrutiny on the effect of these technologies, however, reveals that they actually all save people's time.

Primarily, with the help of technologies, people no longer need to deal with trivial daily problems and thus have more time for meaningful matters. Different from people in the generation of horse and buggy, people now do not need to walk for hours to school or to work anymore. In this case, a person can even work in one city and commute back to his or her home at another city to have dinner together with other family members. Therefore, we can see technologies favors people by saving them time.

In addition, with the aid of technologies, modern people can do a lot of things that ancient people were not able to do within the span of their lives. Take, for example, the learning approaches of modern people which are very different from people in previous generations. Back in ancient times, a person who want to know a certain knowledge may need to go to libraries and read a lot of books in order to find the piece of information he or she wants, As a consequence, it takes a long time for people to master a skill and cause them to have no time on developing second or third interest. Yet, by using the Internet, people now can access to abundant of information and useful online tutorials which help them to gain skills quickly.

In conclusion, the primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency. By saving people's time and let them be able to do more things, technologies are creating a great amount of value for human societies and dramatically enhancing the well-being of human..