Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because of both a high comfort level and a fear of the unknown.

The United States is the number one democratic nation in the world but there has not been any progress into improving the country. Society and politics has been moving slowly. Laws and issues are rarely bought up for discussion. For example, the topic of gay marriage is often bought but is immediately put down by politicians. Progress has to be made in order for a nation to succeed. With progress a nation is able to benefit society as a whole, exercise the unity of the country, and create a better future for our children.

First, progress will benefit the country as a whole. The current topic of gay marriage may seems taboo and unknown to some but it does not mean society should disapprove it. Society has to be able to face these topics and learn about the issues and topics associated from gay marriage. Without learning about an issue, how are politicians able to implement action. If the whole country can listen and learn to understand certain issues, there wouldn't be any ignorant assumptions, The whole country can progress as a democratic nation when society faces their fears.

Second, progress will exercise the unity of a nation. There has been many debates on gun control in America. Some believes there should be gun control laws while the other side opposes. The nation is divided from the two sides. For a nation to be united again, progress has to be made. Both sides have to explain their oppositions and supports for the issue and both side has to come to an agree progress towards a common goal. The goal for gun control is to provide a safe country for it's people, not to segregate a country.

Third, progress will create a better future for our children. If the progress is slow, our children or even grandchildren will still be facing the challenges we are facing today. Martin Luther King provided the whole nation with progress so every person is able to exercise the same rights given by the Declaration of Independence. Without MLK and the whole civil rights movement, progress would not be made and our children will be facing the same racial prejudice from fifty years ago. Progress have proven to create a better world for our future generations.

Progress should not abandoned but be appreciated. It must be made in order for a nation to live. Every great society has to make progress in order for the nation to benefit, unite, and create a better future for our children.