Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because of both a high comfort level and a fear of the unknown.

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

Proponent of the statement shows that progress should pursue great society; people only conform anachronistic way to think and action because of high level of comfort, and a fear of the unknown. On the other hand, progress does not necessarily have to pursue great society because traditional way is more comfort and secure than new ways. Society is the big group of people living together, interrelating each other, and sometimes, confronting any incidents, such as great depression, World War 1 and 2. The part of great society is to make people in a good mood and to live in peace. In order to protect great society value, there should be a progress of innovational ways of thinking and acting.

First and foremost, development is come from innovational path. What if we stopped second industrialization, there is no more computers, cars, airplanes, and even technologies. Basically, the ways of obsolete think and act is not for the high comfort, but it makes worse situation where we could not send mail via internet or travel from San Francisco to Los Angeles without transportation. Great society should think about the development whichever people demand and those are mostly come from innovational development.

Moreover, fear of unknown does not exist if people do not try anything and any fear of unknown is another fictional novel that does not exist. When it comes to try something new, it is not about the fear of unknown but is about conservative ideas that make boundary from a new ways of thinking. Take for instance, when we try skateboard, we are frightened about when we fell on to the ground. However, we deliberate again, this is the first step of playing skateboard; we fell down, recognize how to step on the skateboard. As though playing skateboard, innovative ideas and innovational action could make a fear, but if try at least first time, it will have more possibility to have better and great society of all time.

In closing, great society is not easily accomplished, but when we think about the history value; innovational development is the part of the great society to become more comfortable to people. Further, the first step of new ideas and new ways would have fear of unknown, there should be more possible to have better and great society of all time. Therefore, progress should pursue great society.