The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement given here is ambiguous. The ambiguity comes in the definition of real talent. So we will take the real talent is the musician's ability to play the different variety of things to perfection based on the conventions. To assess the talent precisely, one's fame does not play a major role in the honest assessment of the talent. It depends on the person who is assessing whether or not he is thinking objectively or subjectively. So, I disagree with the author's statement that the real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations so that his or her fame does not interfere with the honest assessment.

A musician like Mozart is very talented. To assess his talent we don't have to wait for several generations. It can be assessed by a person who is an objective thinker. If someone argues that a person can never be objective in his opinion. Then, we can say that many generations of people who not become an objective thinker. Micheal Jackson was a popular musician, an objective thinker never changed his view about him, whether he is talented or not. Similarly, for any other musician, the assessment is not related to the time when the assessment is taken. It only depends on the person doing the assessment.

Let's take an example of a musician who is very popular and is famous. If we require assessing his talent, we can certainly do with the help of testing his skill in the music.Like any other musician, we can assess his talent with a series of rounds. We will not need some generations to test the skill. Nowadays, there are many electronic devices that can also measure a person's talent.

In some cases, we may say that popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations. For instance, when the musician is very advanced for his time. In that case, people can't understand his music and thus can't accurately assess it. But if this is true then the other case can also happen that a musician is popular now but after several generations, people can't understand the music and will assess the musician incorrectly. If we take this as true, then we can never assess a person accurately.

Finally, I would like to say that whether a musician is popular or not does not have any relation with the degree of accuracy in his assessment. We can always find an objective thinker who can assess the musician without indulging in any kind of bias. Furthermore, assessing after several generations does not have any relation to objective thinking.