Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The Indian Government faced the largest telecom scandal when the news of its awarding the 2G spectrum to private companies without legal auctions got exposed, leaving the Government vulnerable to bear the brunt of extreme criticism, from both the national and the international media.

The beleaguered Government had also illegally allocated some of the country's largest coal mines to public sectors and other private companies, which when unveiled, resulted in the resignation of several political bigwigs working in coalition with the people involved in the scam and de-allocation of several coal mines.

These are events that stir the entire nation, agitate the mass and very often lead to the no-confidence of the Government. Scandals, as we term them, exhume some of the deepest secrets of any nation, be it of the Government or at the individual level.

Scandals are widespread mammoth occurrences, publicized extensively, that defames the involved institution. They are classified broadly as political, social, educational, sports and religious scandals. They spread like wildfires, across entire nations within a short span, fuelled by the media, resulting in mass movements and criticisms.

The scandals offer ways to expose the dire problems and their consequences vehemently than it can be done through public speakers or reformers. What speakers can achieve is to agitate the mass, generally limited within certain geographical boundaries and political constraints, but scandals spread like wildfires, engulfing the entire nations in flames, charring it to dust and spewing out the dark smoke of political blasphemy. They bring to light the closely guarded, illegal activities a nation's deeply involved in, the various scams worth millions of dollars of people's money and life, and, unmasks the Satan that hides behind the 'social reformers' who are accused of the scams. They tend to focus our attention to problems that we normally, nonchalantly and blatantly avoid. The paparazzi, the media, the press, the internet and quite often the whistle-blowers too, cumulatively fuel this effort.

International scandals, involving some of the renowned personalities and organizations, such as the Olympics scandals, where eminent sports persons were found to resort to drugs, the US president having an amorous affair with a White House office staff, the Pope of the Vatican City demonized for outraging the modesty of young seminarians and fathering a child, or Wikileaks exposing the brutality the Afghan prisoners faced at the hands of the US army, call for worldwide action and demand purgation of the colloquial system. These problems cannot be sufficiently addressed by any reformer as very often they may face grave consequences from people in power that eventually subdues or threatens them. Scandals brazenly expose the nudity of the system, which cannot be veiled with the rags of lies.

News of such wrong-doings proliferates through both scandals and rumors. But what differentiates a scandal from a rumor is that the latter changes its hues and forms as it passes down through various channels whereas scandals exponentially evolve, exposing more scandals associated with the previous ones, forming a mountain out of a molehill.

But scandals are not always true. Rumors that cumulate into scandals may often become disorganized and wane away and deviate from their specific course. It may also result in uncalled violent consequences between people or nations. It is at this juncture we need a humble reformer, who would guide the agitation with profound leadership qualities, which would help the cause achieve its motive and mitigate the problems.

Scandals, thus, cannot be restrained within any specific boundary. Scandals spread their roots and secure themselves firmly to the ground only to shake the foundation of the entire setup and demand reforms. They tend to expose the institution behind the purdah, purify the system and purge out evils. In a grand and effective way, unlike any other method, it draws people's focus on issues which require immediate attention.