Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Some people argue that scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that our society neglects. Others hold that scandals contribute nothing to the improvement of our society. Both arguments are equally important and mutually exclusive. As long as scandals are defined as events that contradict laws or social norms, draw public attention, and induce outrage, scandals could sometimes open up a policy window, which paves wave for making changes in our society, though scandals alone do not guarantee the improvement of the institutions in our society.

Admittedly, in order to cater the taste of the immediate public, journalists and reporters sometimes fabricate sensational stories or exaggerate facts. Scandals born this way do no good to our society. For example, former U.S. President J. F. Kennedy was reported to have an affair with the sex symbol Marilyn Monroe outside his marriage. Moreover, when Monroe was found dead in her apartment, some sordid stories appeared in tabloids saying that it was Kennedy who had Monroe killed in order to avoid a political disaster. Such scandals have no evidence to support and they become nothing but the subjects of much gossip in bars.

Nonetheless, scandals once proved to be true, could bring some long-forgotten social problems into the spotlight, which offers an opportunity to fix some dilapidated systems and institutions. In 2014, an Arizona Veteran Health Administration facility was reported to have seen at least 40 U.S. Arm Forces veterans die while waiting for care. The scandal went viral and the then Secretary of U.S Veteran Affairs was forced to resign under pressure. Movements and campaigns for veterans’ right soared in many cities in the U.S, opening a policy window to reform the healthcare system for the veterans.

While scandals draw public attention to problems that no reformer or speaker dares to bring on the table, scandals alone do not guarantee fixing the problems. The very attention a problem enjoyed is short, and therefore the opportunity to make a change could slip away if we fail to seize it. The controversial Edward Snowden’s scandal reveals the government’s invasion of American’s privacy. However, attention for the issue of privacy was diluted by Snowden’s illegal disclosure, and a policy window to make changes to better protect American’s privacy was shut down quickly. As a result, Snow’s scandal failed to give birth to a better protection of American’s privacy

To conclude, scandals without evidence may end up being subjects of gossip in a bar or a nightclub. Once proved to be true, scandals have the potential to open up a policy window that provides a valuable opportunity to fix some long-forgotten problems in our society. However, attention brought by scandals could be ephemeral, and the opportunity to make a change may simply slip away if we fail to act promptly.