Schools should do more to prepare students for the non- academic aspect of adulthood

Schools are the first institution that an individual is exposed to. And it is in these formative years of schooling that the character and attitude of an individual is shaped. It therefore becomes utmost important that the education that the schools provide must be holistic in nature balancing academics with non-academics.

Education provides basic understanding of the concepts, laws and theories. This helps in intellectual growth and reasoning ability of an individual. We see it in daily lives that place where the population lacks education there are problems of hygiene, violence and abuse. Schools therefore have to focus on primary task of educating the individual.

But, aren’t we are all familiar with the saying ‘all work and no play made jack a dull boy’. The saying draws correctly from the fact that if schools are turned exclusively into institutions imparting academic education and ignoring the non-academic part it may end up churning out lot of dissatisfied individuals. Academics is one part, a major part of the life would be living the life, carrying out basic chores, interacting with people, following laws and respecting other people’s beliefs. A society lacking this education may well be referred to as more educated but their narrow understanding of life and its functioning will be harmful for society. An example of this is seen recently when educated youth from certain section of society get radicalized take up anti-social activities. The reason is that they were not taught how to distinguish between right and wrong in early years and hence are vulnerable.

So, the best was a school can help an individual and society is to identify the talent, interest of an individual. Provide necessary support and mentoring along with basic education so that the individual can lead a more satisfied life in adulthood.