Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit

the greatest number of people.

To limit the researchers only to be active on the subjects that benefit the majority of the people, cannot not be fair. Nevertheless, the author of the statement above recommends that the researchers should concentrate their research on the areas that are probably more beneficial for the majority of people. The statement tacitly recommends this at the expense of taking the minorities into account. In what follows I will defend that any research is justifiable even if only one human being would benefit from that.

First, the inception of many overarching problems takes place in the minorities. The researchers usually do not take the issues seriously until the problem spreads to the masses and becomes a crisis. Consider the Aids disease. After the outbreak of the disease, researchers begun their studying on the disease, while there were already many casualties of such a disease and many are still the carrier of the disease. Hence, if the diseases were dealt with in its initial phases, within the minorities, the catastrophe of such a disease did not embroil the world into the current extent.

In addition, even if a problem is not growing on a population and remains in the minor number of the population, again, there is no justification to leave the problem unaddressed; when we sanction a discrimination in favor of the majority, it amounts to the oppression of the minorities, when it is possible to care for them either. 1 of 10,000 in Caucasian population is affected by a diseased named phenylketonuria, which is considered as a rare disease. Untreated symptoms can lead to intellectual disability , seizures, and other serious medical problems. Beholden to researchers, many of the children with such a disease can have a normal life nowadays. If we could save one's life by our researches, there is no justification why not doing that.

Finally, researcher talent or interest might be wasted in a field that regards majority’s benefits of the people; when we prompt researchers to avoid from the concerns of minorities, it may be accompanied by undermining their talents and interests. Consider the aforementioned rare diseases. When a researcher’s family member is suffering from such a rare disease, the researcher becomes much motivated in doing research on that. If the researcher is precluded to research on that field, he or she might not find any other field to fulfill his/role as a researcher.

In short, as discussed, the recommendation of the author fails to be fair. As long as the human being is able to cure and solve the problems of his/her own kind, it is not the matter of the quantity when it comes to surviving even one individual.