Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is debatable whether society ought to attempt to prevent extinction of species only if extinction of those species is due to human activities. Although, humans are the only species with intellect and conscience, it would be most effective if humans take responsibility for those species that are endangered as a result of human activities.

To begin with, it is most efficient when humans try to save endangered species only if human activities are the cause; otherwise, it would require too much time and energy. It is incontrovertible that humans are responsible for the adverse results engendered from human societies. Industrialization, nuclear energy, and wars have truly had detriments on many other species. However, humans should strategize well about saving endangered species and target those that are affected mainly from humans. It is crucial to plan since humans have to care for other problems as well. Ther is a lot of urgent situations that require extensive attention such as ISIS terror, murder incidents, and gun terror issues. These incidents create human victims, which should be the primary target for a society to care for. Had there been limitless amount of resources, societies would be able to save all the endangered species and care for human society as well. However, since resources are limited, there needs a plan, which inevitably makes humans to choose to select which species to save.

Moreover, even though human conscience tells that society should make efforts to save every endangered species, it is simply an impossible task. Nature has its own rules and humans have to accept and submit to it. The thought that humans could prevent every extinction is a very arrogant thought, and simply improbable as well. By the law of nature, some species are dying off while other species are created and survived. Humans suggested a lot of theories like survival of the fittest and natural selection; nevertheless, such phenomena is out of human realm. Although humans could have some impact to those species that are affected primarily by human activities, it would be very arduous for humans go against the nature's law to recover other species.

Admittedly, one can argue that there is a chain effect and everything is related. Even seemingly innocuous human activities could be deleterious to some species. However, then there will be no advancement as well. Humans eventually have to choose the most effective option, and there will be opportunity cost in every choice. And, it is most effective if humans target those species that directly affected by human activities.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, humans should attempt to prevent extinction of species that are endangered mainly due to human activities.