Some employers are sure that control helps to increase productivity and create a team spirit, which would lead to better results so that firms could gain more profit. Other people claim that there is no need in keeping an eye on workers.

Many firms face a situation when they have to decide whether they allow employees to work on their projects off office or maintain supervision of a workplace. Some employers are sure that control helps to increase productivity and create a team spirit, which would lead to better results so that firms could gain more profit. Other people claim that there is no need in keeping an eye on workers as freedom can allow employers to spend their time wiser, which still would result in a better outcome for a firm. Undoubtedly, the statement given is rather controversial; however, closer examination reveals that companies are better off when they maintain more traditional approach – supervising.

The first reason in support of the opinion that traditional workplace is far better is the fact that workers have no incentive to spend work day doing nothing because of supervision. Hence, if they had stayed at home working on some project, they could have spent way more time on it because they would have had a possibility to pay their attention to something else; for instance, social networks or online games. While supervising, there is no chance to draw attention to other non-relevant things.

Another reason to be given is team spirit. Working under traditional arrangements means that employees spend their work time communicating with co-workers. Small talks on breaks, helping one another with some difficult issues leads to warmer relationships, which results in positive emotions and good mental health. When workers are not exhausted physically and mentally, their productivity rises, which is obviously more profitable for companies as better results lead to higher yield.

Working at home may have some benefits, too. If an employer has a possibility to work wherever he/she prefers, he can maintain his/her schedule. One prefers to work in the night; another feels better while working early in the morning. However, freedom can cause inefficient use of time. Those who cannot meet deadlines should not be given such freedom, and unfortunately, there are mainly few people who can do their job on time.

While there are arguments to be considered for both sides, it is quite clear that there is a greater advantage to the traditional arrangements. Not only firms but also workers are better off in that case.