Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The statement tries to enlighten us with the predicament that college students face after graduating high school; should they choose a career path based solely on their interests or should they choose a field of study bearing current advancements and better job options in the future. While the availability of jobs in a certain field may yield more returns with respect to money or job options, it may even lead to professional disappointment. In my opinion, due to the myriad of the possibilities our globalized world offers us, a perfect balance has to be sought between our interests and the job opportunities.

Despite the assertions of some people that availability of jobs is the most important aspect in students' selection of a field of study, other aspects also have to be considered. The main advantage of basing this choice on the job market is that it would imply more job options, working in premium locations and a symbiotic balance between work and lifestyle. In addition, it would result in better salaries than jobs which do not have a plethora of availability. Take the basic example of Engineering. We are living in a world that is shrinking by the minute, with man looking to ease his life and reduce human effort. For this, Software Engineers are required in hordes; from manufacturing ergonomically advanced machines which have the accuracy of machining in microns to building up beta platforms for a company, Software Engineers are without a doubt in demand compared to other types of Engineers.

However, choosing the field of study based on one's interests could be indicative of a more enjoyable work activity which will have an underlying effect on one's personal life as something which drives or motivates you. One would be able to make a significant contribution to the world as he would be skillful in the certain field of expertise, making him a better professional. However, choosing according to their interests does not necessarily result in varied job options and people often struggle to find jobs. There have been examples of Engineers taking up call-center jobs in India just to make ends meet.

In conclusion, one should weigh his options in choosing one's field of study according to one's values and priorities. Irrespective to the possibility of a dynamic or a static job market, one should try to strike that perfect balance between one's interests and job offers. The world today offers us a multitude of options and it is the responsibility of every student to explore various fields before choosing one.