Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

In life, thousands upon thousands of opportunities will present themselves. It is better to catch one of those opportunities in a subject you find interesting. College students should consider their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study.

It is important for people to pursue their passions because more often than not people reflect that passion through the work that they do. It is easy to see when someone is interested in what they do; they are enthusiastic, energetic, and efficient. Usually this results in a higher quality of whatever it is a person is interested in. If a student has a passion for art, but is told going into college that the field lacks jobs and is unsustainable, that student will then have to choose to study some subject he is not interested in at all. He goes on to study medicine, where jobs are aplenty, and continues to live his life working in order to continue doing something he does not enjoy. It is better to live a life where you can utilize your talents in the best way possible than to lead a life spent doing something that makes you miserable.

Another reason for students to consider their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study is to keep them interested throughout college. This interest keeps them motivated and engaged, making it more likely for them to perform well in their classes and graduate. This is benefits colleges because students finish school sooner, and benefits students because they enter the workforce sooner as well.

However, it would be naïve to think that all students can choose this path. The world still needs doctors and engineers, even if nobody is interested in those fields. Sometimes a student will consider which fields of study present better job outlooks and discover a hidden interest that way. This way both bases are covered – having a job while maintaining an interest in it – while the underlying affinity towards that subject remains.

College is an enjoyable experience, and a big part of that experience is your studies. Students should spend their college days studying something they enjoy and are passionate towards. This is why college students should consider their own interests when deciding on a field of study for a future career.