Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is a matter of contention of present time that, whether a student should consider his talents and interests as the field of study or should consider availability of jobs in the respective field. In today's world, we can see most of the student go through that predicament. As learning is process best garnered when one find it interesting, I strongly support that, one should choose his field of study based on interest and talent. But, there are some other unavoidable factors, for which my response to the statement is in favor of interest but along with some qualifications.

As the world is advancing faster, it is becoming more difficult to keep pace with the trend of knowledge without being an ardent learner. If one studies for just having a degree, it may fulfill his requirement, but it will not be possible to glean the best of the knowledge without properly engaging to the field of study. For that engagement, a student should pursue his dream and study the subject of interest. For example, in the field of science or any research, it is very difficult for a student to bring a breakthrough in the respective field without being an enthusiastic researcher.

On the other hand, we can not deny the fact that, it is quite impossible for everyone in the world to get the subject they wish for. Additionally, sometimes it is not possible for a student to understand the path in which he should study, according to his interest and talent, as because, most of the parent's want their children to be either doctor, engineer or aviator. So, as a child grows up, impression from it's parents, keeps an indirect impact, in choosing his interest. Maybe, the student is thinking, he wish to be a doctor, as his parents all the time talked among them about that, but possibly he has the perfect talent to be an outstanding painter. So, at a little age, when one have to choose from a lot of alternatives, there comes a lot of situations, which certainly influence the decision of the student.

Moreover, in the developing countries, most of the students focus on completing graduation as early as possible and to get a job to support family and that is a legitimate concern. It is not possible for all the student to be the researcher and study the subject of interest, someone needs to be the worker to keep rotating the wheel of civilization. So, as student sometimes wish to have a good job after graduation and get stability, one should choose his field of study based on the availability of jobs in that field.

To conclude, allowing freedom for one to study according to one's interest is beneficial for the student and the nation in the larger context to march to the path of progress. But at the same time, provision for popular choice based on job market should be kept, so that, one can take the path of his dream or the path of his need.