Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Every person has a talent or predilection towards any particular field. As college studies are very crucial for shaping future of an individual, they should be inclined towards the interest or talent he possesses. In this way, college studies will help in making the student get the desired denouement from his life.

Consider the situation of a child, even he engages in only those activities he is really good in or the ones he finds interesting, nobody can force him to play anything else. If he is not able to perform up to the mark in that activity he will work hard towards making himself better in it. In the same way, students who will choose their field of interest they will show the best they have and will work persistently to reach epitome of their respective field. Failure will not discourage them as they will strive to show what they really can do. Sachin Tendulkar, one of the legends of cricket was able to reach those heights because he pursued his interest and had a talent for the game. If he would have thought that will I be able to become a professional, will I get a job; he would not have reached where he is today. Thus, talent and interest help a person to achieve unbelievable goals.

The people who work according to their interests contribute a lot to the society as well. Be it anyone, Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, Mark Zuckerberg, Bill Gates, Steve Jobs they all have followed their dreams and have made amazing contributions to the world in that process. Any person who does not have interest in their studies or jobs can never show the tenacity it takes to become exemplary in your field as they do have that fervency. Making students take the subjects which are not according to their interests or talent is like depriving our world to get quintessence of those fields.

Even if we consider for once that students should select subjects according to the job availability in that field, this will only lead to dissatisfaction resentment, lack of inner peace in the long run. Studies have also shown that people working in field have a penchant towards are extremely happy, satisfied and help in making their organizations more productive. Desultory actions can only result in negativity and helplessness.

Hence from the above arguments it is evident that interests and talent play a major role in making an individual what he is and thus he should work towards enhancing his skills instead of going towards a monotonous and disinterested life.