Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Taking up a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field is not unheard of. Availability of jobs in a particular field of study give enough impetuous to students to purse it. But considering a field of study without any real interest or liking for that field, even when there is a lot of job opportunity, if not immediately, creates problems and dissatisfaction in the long run.

In today’s competitive world, earning your bread and butter with a job is the basis of survival. Getting a good job has become the primary objective of taking up any course or field of study. No doubt, the availability of god job in the chosen field should be top on priority list of students, not only because it will help them get solvent but also because they can put their knowledge into practical use. Sometimes students have an idea of the job they want to do but unaware of the right field of study they have to purse. In these cases, choosing the field of study for the desired job is required. Many at times, a good job prospect at the end of the line, help student build up the required interest and talent. Moreover, when a student chooses a field without any job prospect, at the end of the day when he see his peers getting jobs while he is clueless with what to do with the amount of knowledge in the field when there is no real job, it gets frustrating.

But, taking up a field of study solely on this one criterion of whether jobs are available in this field or not, is not sufficient to embark on a fulfilling career. If the student chooses a field of study that he is not really interested in, and neither he is talented enough for it, then it will be very difficult for him to sustain his career in this field in long run. For example, it is seen that most students take up engineering because of the good job prospect in the field, but once they start the course, many realise that they have no real interest in the field and end of leaving the field even after getting a job. Another example can be that of taking up medicine as the field of study, here the job prospect is very good but if a student dives into it without the talent and interest, it will be difficult for him to keep up the motivation required for the rigorous study. Before even getting the job he is surely to fail. Moreover, taking up a field without interest and talent will make the student, a mere mediocre. He/she can never achieve the level of excellence a motivated and talented student can reach.

Finally, as it can be seen that, despite the many advantages of choosing a field of study with availability of job, it can never be equivalent to taking up a course where your talent and interest lies.