Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

While sanguine people tend to believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests while choosing a field of study, it is best that students base their choice of study on the availability of jobs in that field. Deciding what to study in college is among one of the most important life decisions a person has to make. In addition to being one of the most important decisions, it is also one that is very expensive. To best benefit from this decision, a person should consider important factors, such as post-graduate employment rates relative to their desired field and the current economic status. Choosing a field of study that a person finds interesting and relative to their own talents is an important decision, however, it should not be the only, of even key, factor in making such an enormous decision.

Post-graduate employment rates are far more important for millennials today than ever before. Past generations, such as the baby boom generation, needed not worry too much about this consideration, as a simple high school degree was more than enough for preparation of the "real world" and a college education seemed to guarantee you a job. Today, millennials face more burdens than in the past. A recent study shows there is a 40% unemployment rate for recent graduates. While this percentage might not bother too many people because it is less than half, this very percentage breaks down into scary figures when applied to real people. Take the amount of recent graduates from Rutgers University, for example. Rutgers, the leading research school in New Jersey, is as big as it gets, boasting a number of 48,000 undergraduate students. Apply this 40% unemployment rate to this university and you have 19,200 students graduating without jobs. Some might argue what is the use of studying a field with great employment rates if you are not interested. However, with double majors, minors and more than 100 fields of studies per university, this should not be an issue, as one can simply combine interest and quality job outlook.

In addition, the economic status of your country is another reason to choose a field of study based on the availability of jobs in that field. These two go hand in hand. When the economy is booming, there are more jobs available in most fields of study. However, the current state of the United States is trillions in debt and the economy is still suffering from the recession that hit many years ago. In 2013, the Federal Reserve Bank of New York noted that only 27% of college graduates were landing jobs related to their major. This means that a heaping 73% of college graduates pursued jobs unrelated to what their interested study was. In relation to the argument at hand, that is a large amount of college students who resorted to jobs such as bartending and waitressing because they found it difficult to find a job in their passion, such as becoming an actor after studying drama. This is why it is essential to keep the economy in mind; no one wants to be put in a situation where they work hard and then have to settle.

While choosing a field of study based on interest is an important consideration, it should not be the main factor in deciding which path to take. A simple solution is for someone to pursue a field that is both interesting and economically beneficial to him or her, upon completion of this study. When a person keeps job availability and the state of the economy in mind, they can simply choose double majoring, minoring, extracurriculars, etc. to sustain their interests. This is the best way in which a person can choose their interest and get the best out of their studies. Post graduation, the most important thing will be if you can find a job based on what you studied. Even if you pursue a study purely on interest, how happy will that interest make you if you become part of that 73% that settles for an unrelated career or that 40% that is unemployed? Job availability is the more important factor in deciding which field of study to choose, interest can be paired with it later.