Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Education is something that is mandatory for one to be successful in any field. While it is certain that people pursue higher studies in college only for getting a commendable job in future, choosing a field of study solely based on job opportunities is not appropriate.

In any job, success is determined not only on the basis of money, but also on degree of happiness and satisfaction, which is obtained by pursuing field of choice and interest. Take, for instance, a case where a student opts for law only because it assures a secure career in future. Once he/she becomes a lawyer, it might result in huge income but at the end of every day, the person will be disgruntled and disappointed because they do not like what they do. What, then, is the point of earning huge sums of money when a person is blasé with life?

Another point of cardinal importance here is that at the instant of choosing a field, jobs might be scarce in the field, but new opportunities can always open up in future. Moreover, if a person has a flair for his field of interest, he/she will succeed even if job opportunities are less. For example, the famous Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar chose cricket as a career because he was keenly interested in it, and he surely came up with flying colours. While it is true that every aspiring cricketer does not become Sachin Tendulkar, he/she at least is happy and satisfied with career.

When everyone pursues a certain field because of job opportunities, the field tends to get saturated. The increasing number of students opting for Computer Science is the best example in this situation. Eventually, there might be no jobs available for those who are really interested have the talent because all the positions are filled up with those who chose it only for money and security. This will also have a negative effect on the Nations development, as the policies, decisions and work may not be up to the mark. Sometimes, choosing a field based on job opportunities helps tackle unemployment to a certain extent. For example, a person trained in jewellery designing may have no job even if he/she has received high education in that field, because it is not in demand and thus not very successful. The person then starts to feel that they should have chosen a more secure option such as IT where there are ample opportunities available, and where more people are required. This however does not bring happiness in the person’s life.

To be successful in any field, struggle is required. Hence, it matters not which fields have ample opportunities, as long as one has the alacrity and zeal for life and is prepared for the tough competition he/she might face in future. As someone has rightly said, ”there are no ideal careers, only ideal choices”.