Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The author of the issue contends that some people are of the opinion that students should base their field of study only on their talents and interests, while some others believe that the availability of jobs is the key factor to choose the field of study. In what follows the main reasons by both groups are first discussed and then my own position would be delineated.

Those who argue for talents and interests as the most important elements to be chosen for educational major seem to believe that success in the future jobs derives from one’s passion and intrinsic abilities. To be compatible with the chosen job and not being bored of what one does it is vital to love your major and have competence over other people who are volunteer for the same job. Having pioneer ideas definitely results in success. Hence, entering a job without any enthusiasm and interest conveys lassitude and failure.

However, others believe that interest and talent are not adequate to find the desirable job in the future. These people give more weight to the economical condition of the society and the available jobs provided for people. For example in rural areas studying in agricultural field might bring a better chance to get a job after graduation rather than studying in management. Geographical position, number of firms and factories, the population of an area can all be determining factors to find a job. Therefore, relying on interests and talents solely does not guaranty the future of a student.

As for my position, I lodge myself somewhere between the two groups. One thing that has not been considered in the second group is that it is not possible to push many students to choose certain jobs and deny their interests and talents because students with various passions and skills should not be confined in a limited domain of study. On the other hand, informing students about the job market and availability of jobs can guide students in the right path. Every field of study requires talented students to be prepared for its own job opportunities, however, the need for certain jobs is few it exists.

In sum, neither overlooking one’s talents nor neglecting the job opportunist does not seem sound for the future of students. Students should obtain information about availability of jobs but they should not disregard their talents and abilities.