Some people believe that goverment funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all perople. Others believe that goverment funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There is no denying of the impact of art within society. However, plenty of people have varying opinions on whether art should be funded. While many feel the arts provides benefits to those who wish to see and enjoy it, others believe otherwise. As the government provides enough funding for the arts, it would not only provide absolute benefits for both avid art lovers and casual enthusiasts, but also contribute to the betterment of modern society as a whole. It gives us the capability to think as we examine and explain to our own selves what we see. Opinions and values are heard through the delicate paintings displayed for all to take notice, and we also can look back at how an important event such as the renaissance has allowed us to utilize that creativity in order for all of us to thrive today.

To begin, as you take a look at a painting or sculpture at a museum, plenty of questions arise such as the origin, the meaning and what one can take away from the pose or the shade of sunset sky. Moving pieces evoke emotion; it's a way for society as a whole to group together and experience something familiar. Though we all move towards different paths and walk at varying paces, the simplicity of an emotion can remind us all that we are one in the same. It's what creates understanding and peace, as we learn not to hurt what we grow attached to.

Secondly, with art and the countless ways of expression gives others the opportunity to express one's feelings on whatever subject matter resonates with them. We have ways of recounting our own tales of hurt, frustration, love and satisfaction which can be morphed into a masterpiece. With that, it teaches us to find light in which suffering resides and create something that makes us feel ugly…beautiful. As chaos and calamity destroys a village and a state of mind, it can be fully repaired through resilience; the lessons learned and applied through experience. There is more to a canvas than a blank spot for some. It is also the act of openness and vulnerability and letting others see and hopefully take something out of it.

Further explaining, one can see the impact that art has brought us through the renaissance. A moment in time where innovate ideas had formulated, growth and self-improvement occurred through curiosities being explored, experiments conducted and questions eventually answered. Throughout that pivotal period, art became much more than lines and shades drawn on a canvas. Stories had been spoken in ways that not enough words could grasp the meaning. It caused others to think and speak for themselves; as new paradigms had been shifted and perspectives were being created. Art provided the space for new discoveries for all.

Clearly, art has given us the blessing of beauty, thought and opinion. We think according to what we find and don’t find beautiful, and with each era changes as the congregation moves along as well. With funding, benefits are made for every civilian, every person willing to expand one's mind and think deeper. All will benefit.