Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

The purpose of art has been perceived as exploration of human mind and spirit presenting its own value. Such notion has been linked to the consistent lack of financial resources in the field of art, which raised a discussion whether or not government funding of the arts is beneficial. While some people argue that government-led financial assistance would help art to thrive and accessible to the public, others argue that it would only be detrimental for the true value of the arts. In my view, government funding is more beneficial than detrimental for the arts.

Of course, it is undeniable that, in some cases, governmental funding could surely threaten the integrity of the arts, which is the most important value they possess. Some kinds of art do not just focus on beauty, but take a further step to ignite a light over their society by being satirical. Thus, for such arts, relying on the government funding could be deleterious for its purpose—criticizing and ridiculing the powerful. Consider, for example, how freely a satirical play can express its criticism against the government when its most critical financial source is the government. This shows that government funding can surely undermine the vital value of the arts—integrity.

Despite the negative impact of financial resource provided by a government on the arts, we should not overlook the benefits of it. As mentioned in the given statement, government funding can be critical in thriving of the arts. Even though artists do not pursue wealth, they still need money manage their everyday life. Government funding, therefore, could financially support them with their creative work by enabling them to focus on their art projects. This would lead the field of art to flourish with diverse trials of artists without fearing too much about whether or not their arts would sell to the public.

Moreover, it is also possible to increase the accessibility of the arts to the public with proactive financial support of the government. When it comes to rural area lacking basic infrastructure of museums and theatres, it is difficult for the residents to obtain an adequate experiences of any kind of art. In such case, governmental funding could have a huge impact and bring a significant change in the people’s artistic experiences. By providing necessary facilities, the government can enhance the accessibility of the residents to play, exhibition, and concerts. Also, the government may be able to provide a range of art classes for the people living in the rural area. This shows how governmental funding can surely provide the arts to more people.

To sum, despite the threatening impact of governmental funding on the integrity of the arts, it is still necessary. The financial resource provided by the government not only can enable artists to make their ends meet, but also improve the accessibility of the people to the arts, especially in rural area. Thus, I strongly believe that governmental funding has more positive impact than negative.