Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Art is a major part of the culture of a society. It portrays the traditions, the rituals, and views of the society. Moreover, art is the source of beautification and enhances the meaning of itself and its surroundings. It is a channel for exemplifying beauty of many forms but is also a medium for voicing concerns and portraying evils as well. Humans thrive in a society full of various art forms. It is one the oldest and innate requirements of humans to surround ourselves with beauty. Cave drawings and architecture of Ajanta and Allora caves of India are some of the finest art examples. A society devoid of art would be grey and monotonous devoid of joys that art brings into our lives.

In today’s world, success is an outcome of hard work and promotion. Even for any artwork to be successful, it has to be promoted in the society. People have to aware of the artwork produced by the artists to actually visit and appreciate their work. Sadly apart from a small section of rich artists, many can’t afford to financially support their requirements and to promote their work. Thus government funding for the arts ensures that the artist doesn’t have to worry about the finances and funding for their work. Furthermore government funding would ensure appropriate promotional support for such artist as well which would be at a much larger and public scale than any individual or organization.

In addition, since a major part of the society live in a democracy they have a right to voice their opinion. It is a fundamental right of the citizens. However anti-nationalistic views which threaten the peace and balance of the society must be banned. They not only promote undesirable and destructive views but can also result in inciting people creating ruckus and chaos in the society. Such views, even in art work should be stopped and restricted from showcasing the public. Banning of such artworks doesn’t degrade the integrity of arts instead is a source of menace.

Hence, government funding is important for the upkeep of the art world of the society. It is an important factor for a thriving art society and to promote budding and upcoming artists. Moreover, instead of threatening the integrity of the arts, it boots and enhances it by keeping away the nuisances who are not contributing anything noteworthy to the society.