Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Governments have funded projects like dam , highways or flyovers for the welfare of the people as It is an institution for the people, by them and for them. While doing so government somewhat forgotten the marginalized and invaluable assets such as arts , which arrived way before the 100 Crores worth of projects and which cannot be quantified in the form of money.Therefore,I believe that government funding of arts is necessary for its growth as well as availability to the people.

The world has seen different art forms through out it’s time, ranging from music , painting , sculptures and dance. They have been prominently been a part of the human civilization , a form of expression which divulges the details of various cultures and giving us an insight of our rich history. The history can be depicted in this form by human and no other living being on this planet, it is due to our inane abilities which were honed by sharing of ideas and skills that we are able to produce masterpieces. Consider the pyramids of Egypt and the painting depicted inside them to give an idea of their rich civilization or the Taj Mahal – a powerful symbol of love which attracts tourists from all over the world to India. They were possible due to the importance given to them by their rulers and it is clearly visible that they were encouraged or even funded. Why wouldn’t they? These arts are the only proof of our rich past and it is important to carry on this legacy forward for the generations to come. However the current scenario doesn’t seem too bright for arts as it was maybe a 100 years ago. The days of renaissance are long gone where different arts forms were admired upon, the new age rather requires skills that can help the economy running and the value of arts is slowly diminishing.

People like M.F hussain maybe had an inane talent for painting which was honed thanks to his teachers and the encouragement piled upon his work , likewise the musical talent of The Beatles was known all over the world even when social media didn’t exist. The M.F hussain’s don’t just show up arbitrary , it was due to importance of these arts were they made to realize their talent , the talent which infuses our cultures and history. The government should set up programmes for arts especially for those who are deprived of the basic resources used to express them . Many of those who cant even met their basic demands cannot even think about pursuing arts , these marginalized people should therefore be introduced properly to the subject. Secondly, different art forms should be encouraged all over and their importance and cultural value should also be explained for their growth.

Government funding these art forms will indirectly help it achieve various objectives like by providing people a skill or maybe a job . Secondly The people working towards them would be able to make an impact on global scale and India being a land of rich cultures consisting of different cuisines , languages and even rituals , has produced skillful people in these forms of art which are renowned all over the world, the country can easily boast of its stupendous paintings , sculptures or expressive dance forms. Though it has huge potential for the people and the nation itself, it still has not been maxed out.

Considering the importance carried on by arts , the government should help them out before it is extinct for that it’s important to conserve these art forms in the age of monetary outlooks.