“Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.”

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Since time immemorial art has been an integral part of our society. Different nations have different forms of arts and some arts depict the culture of a nation. The statement depicts a quandary of the author between the belief that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure availability of art forms to common people, and, the belief that this funding threatens the integrity of the arts. Investing in arts at a national level would conceivably allow the artists more resource to create art, and allow the general public better access to opportunities to appreciate art. The worry that this funding will threaten the independence and integrity of art is one that's possible, but not one that's necessary.

Few artists lead an affluent life. For the vast majority of young artists, especially those from a region where there is not a vivacious art dealing market, funding is a constant headache. Many governments fund innovative public art projects that allow budding artists to showcase their talent and work. For example, in the city of Brisbane, everyone from the community can apply to the city council to paint a traffic signal box. Not only has this government-funded art project become a terrific opportunity for street artists to exhibit their talents, it also alleviated the public despise towards this somewhat controversial artform of street art. Many artists who contributed to this project then went on to become world-renowned street artists, who receive commission for their work. And it all started with a tiny traffic signal box.

Moreover, the appreciation of art should not be the privilege of few opulent members of the society who can afford expensive gallery memberships. An affordable access to national art galleries and museums for the public is an essential element in the flourishing of art forms. For example, in Europe, the most prestigious artworks by profoundly renowned artists such as Leonardo Da Vinci and Monet are open to the public. The crowd of art students sketching in the V&A museum in London makes an absolutely beautiful sight. The study and admiration of art by the public almost adds to the original value and meaning of the artwork. This widespread appreciation of art would not be achievable to the same extent without government-funded art galleries and museums.

One may argue that government-funded art projects can bias against artists who dissent the current situation. A modern artist almost has to be critical towards his or her contemporaries to create any artwork remotely interesting or meaningful. For example, if you take away the anger towards the communist regime in Ai Wei Wei's art, it becomes lifeless and pointless. A government sure should not have a say on what an artist produces, or what opinions they voice. However, this is not necessarily at odds with the presence of government funding in art. Being aware of this potential danger, we only need a carefully-regulated and relatively independent committee to assess the funding opportunities. Moreover, the presence of government funding does not eliminate artist's opportunities to get funded by international dealers, just like in the case of Ai Wei Wei.

In conclusion, the government funding of art projects and galleries to ensure the flourishing of art forms in a country should provide an equal support and protection of the rights of an artist. To a large extent, government funding of art projects surely encourages the integrity and dedication of an artist towards his/her talent and work rather than discourage it.