Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Art is the portrait of a country's cultural heritage. To understand art, one requires to have a creative bend of mind. In this IT backed modern world where people are fully engrossed in electronic gadgets, there is hardly any time for artistic activities. Let alone the idea of pursuing a career in the field of arts, it is in fact inching closer to become obsolete. Being an avid admirer of art in any form, I will place myself in the first category of people who think government funds are necessary for arts to flourish and be available to all people.

With the evolution of new technologies, art has also modernized to some extent. Theaters have come up where live plays are enacted. Somehow, art has not been able to cope up with the development that other sectors have seen. Art has never been a necessity of people. In fact, a relatively smaller chunk of folks show interest in arts. Museum goers can be counted on fingers when compared to movie buffs. Looking at the plight of artists, students hardly consider making their career in the field of arts. This is where government needs to come in picture. Students should be encouraged to pursue arts as their profession by giving scholarships to the deserved candidates. Government should fund as well as organize exhibitions to attract artists and the audience. The exhibitions should invite artists not only from other states, but from other countries too. Artists need to be paid a handsome amount for their intricate work.

Indigenous art has always been at the back seat. Native artists rarely get recognized for their aesthetic work. This form of art mainly goes unnoticed due to lack of publicity. Government can publicize the work of indigenous artists by displaying it at public places like bus stations and railway platforms. This will not only prove economical, but will be very helpful in getting mass attention. Apart from it, outlets can be constructed to have a medium for the sale of artistic things.

As every coin has two sides, the government funding can pose threat to the integrity of arts. Since money will get involved if government comes at the aid of arts, it his highly probable that unskillful people will try to make the most of this situation. Forgery and piracy may thrive, as some antisocial elements will try to sell duplicate items. Instead of protecting arts, government might end up in causing irreparable damage to the country' cultural heritage.

On a conclusive note, I would say government interference is unavoidable to help arts flourish. At the same time, it is government's responsibility to have a check on the authenticity of artists' works. In an attempt to save the cultural heritage, a permanent damage should not be inflicted on a country's identity.