Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.Write a response in which you

It is believed by some people that arts should be funded by the government as to grantee general access to the public, while others who hold the opposite opinion think that it would hinder the integrity of arts if government get involved in the process. Despite the first opinion make sense in some cases, I tend to agree with the second view. Because the special tribute of arts and the political role of government plays in our society are not mutually exclusive.

Concededly, under the support of government funding, some type of arts could flourish, especially in some cases art could reach to a wider general public via the promoting of government. An excellent example would be public building designed by some unknown artist, namely the Sydney Opera House, which resembles the image of the seaside city, is a fabulous masterpiece of the combination of government funding and arts. In fact, there are numerous examples of government funding art projects worldwide, obviously the funding support helped to facilitate the influence of art on the general public.

However, what should be noticed is that not all types of art could serve the political goal of government. When government start meddling in the process to choose which type, or which political predilection art attached to, it is no doubt destructive in the neutrality of existence of all arts. In other words, if we give the power to the government to favor certain type of arts, it would facilitate the exact type which suits its political ideology, as a result, arts that probably against the propaganda would be exclusive. At the end, the art which the general public have access to would become the platform for promoting government propaganda, isn’t it scary?

A real life example to describe how art and politics are not mutually exclusive would be the separate of state and church. Years ago, rulers like Roman Emperor, English Royalty, usually use the religious belief, which recognize the existence of god, to consolidate their governing power, thus a fundamental law was written in western society, to separate religion and the government. With regarding to the claim stated, when government returns to support a certain type of religion, which is considered as a type of art, the history of obscuring state and church sounds familiar again. Therefore, to protect the integrity of art, in my view, government funding should be excluded.

To recapitulate, I admit that government funding would benefit to the development of art, however, it is only restricted to certain type which is accord with their political propaganda, thus jeopardize the integrity of art.