Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Today’s government is responsible for collecting taxes and using that money to support areas that are struggling financially. The purpose of doing so is to be able to perpetuate fields that may need monetary assistance in order to stand the test of time. As a result,

government funding is mandatory to ensure that art is accessible to all people and flourishes for generations to come.

Many opponents to government funding of the arts argue that financial assistance will threaten its integrity. Although the monetary support can assist in providing widespread appreciation for art, the consequences of this funding may include censorship of the art itself. Because the government will be the body that erects museums, displays paintings and sculptures, and employs the curators, it will have complete control over what elements are allowed within the building. The selection of these arts will ultimately result in some art pieces being prominently displayed, while others, the more controversial pieces, being removed. Since the motivation behind art itself may include themes that oppose the government itself, to censor these pieces is to remove the integrity of the arts.

Although the issue of selection may seem insurmountable, one possible solution is to engender a panel of judges who are trained in the arts to decide which art pieces are displayed. This panel must not have any financial incentives from the government; therefore, these individuals will be unbiased towards the art that they choose. The disinterested judges will then be able to make a fair and evenhanded decision as to which pieces to include.

With the selection problem aside, I believe that it essential for governments to provide financial funding to support the arts. Unlike large, money-making corporations, many artists are poor individuals without the means to distribute their art or to perform any sort of global marketing. Their penury is not a reflection of their talent; rather, due to simple economics, art is not as easily profitable as other products such as consumer goods. In order to promote fantastic pieces of artwork, the government is obligated to use its power to provide access to everyone by constructing museums and inundating them with meaningful art pieces. Because the government has access to resources that an individual does not, such as land all across the country, it has a duty to propagate and help art burgeon everywhere. Without the financial help of the government in building museums, citizens would have to travel very far to simply view a couple of an artist’s masterpieces. Therefore, the average person would not be able to have ready access to a variety of art from all parts of the country.

Since the government has the financial ability to support art that would not otherwise be available to the general public, it has an obligation to ensure that art flourishes and is readily accessible to all. By forming a committee of veteran judges to decide which pieces of art will be displayed in the museums controlled by the government, there will be an unbiased selection with a wide breadth of masterpieces available for all to see.