Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

When it comes to policy for arts and artists, the views are always ambivalent. Some hold the opinion that government funding of arts is positive, contributing the healthy development of arts, whereas others regard government funding as a threats to the arts, possibly in fear of the undermined freedom to express for artists. As far as I am concerned, there is no clear conflict between funding from authorities and non-govermental agents, and both are indispensible in the thriving of arts.

Foremost, government funding for arts plays a crucial important role in bringing arts to the public. First, let us take public gallaries as an example. They are excellent opportunities for the general public to access fine arts, which is of both cultural and educational signifance. If there is no funding from the government for such expensive exhibitions, the cost for the public would be considerable. In addition, many private collectors are not willing to show their collections to the public, so public museums and gallaries are more desired.

What is more, many artists also rely on government funding and subsidise for survival in big cities like Beijing and New York. Big cities are always a hub for artists and cultural events, but the high living standard in these places also makes it diffucult for relatively unknown artists to settle down. While private art patrons serve as a financial source, they usually only offer funding to those artists of whom the styles are favoured in person. This is where government funding is expected to come in. For instance, in Chinese cities like Beijing and Shanghai, there are Art Village build by the government to accommodate artists, and these have been hugely successful. Importantly, government generally does not restrict the themes of works created by artists receiving its funding.

While government funding are significant, private funders are also necessary for arts. Private funders are less restricted when considering which artists or which genre to support, since they do not need to consider the sentiments of the tax-payers, for example. This is beneficial to the diversity of arts, which is a treasured characteristic for many cultures. In addition, private sources are likely to offer more funding for individual artists, since they do not have stringent budgets. It is also worth noting that private funders can hire professional artists to figure out artists that best deserve the funding, making the money imparted more effective in bolstering fine arts.

Due to aforementioned ground, I generally agree with the point that both government and non-government fundings are important for the thrive of arts, and these two sources are not mutually exclusive. Particularly, government funding should not be reagarded as a threat to the values of arts.