Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

Currently, it is debatable whether government officials should carry out the will of the people they serve or not. Some people argue that the officials should make their decisions on the base of their judgment since there are some adverse situations that require their critical judgment. However, I believe that following the will of the people they serve is the responsibility that those officials should have.

Admittedly, in some cases, making a rapid choice is a pivotal for government officials. To illustrate, with the advent of the Great Depression, many people in the United States were suddenly mired in poverty. The employment rate was dropped at an exponential rate, and many societal ills such as lack of food and resources were prevalent in the American society. Since the situation at the time was so rapidly occurred and a quick solution had to be made, President Roosevelt implement the New Deal Plan without the consensus of the U.S. citizens. If he did not rely on his judgment, the situation could be aggravated. In such an arduous situation, depending on own judgment of the government officials is indispensible.

However, in most of cases, adhering to the will of the citizens is required for the government officials. For instance, after the 9/11 terrorism occurred, the United States government and the former President Bush decided to declare a war on Iraq. However, many people in the United States did not want to involve in the war on Iraq since many lives of people in the U.S. and all around the world would have to be endangered. Despite of general disagreement on the war, the U.S. government attacked the terrorist group in Iraq, and as a consequence, President Bush and his government defamed their reputations and lost people’s trust. As we can see from this compelling example, the government officials should abide by the will of its citizens.

In addition, in case of communist nation, government officials should not be in charge. For example, North Korea is a communist nation where most of decisions are made by the government and its leader Kim Jung-Eun. Because the government does not allow the freedom of thoughts and speech, many people in North Korea continue to suffer from poverty while government officials enjoys luxurious life. If the North Korean government listen to its people’ voice and provide essential goods and food to them, many lives would not be sacrificed. Thus, the government officials should focus on the will of people they serve for the wellbeing of its people.

In conclusion, I content that the responsibility of the government officials is the adhering to the will of its citizens. Therefore, they should go the extra mile to make an effective decision for its citizens.