Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

One part of the people believes that state's officials ought to carry out the will of the citizens. The second part seems to adhere to viewpoint that government should base their actions on their own judgment. Although those two prospects may initially be perceived as contradicting or even opposing, as far as I am concerned they are complementary to each other. Despite this fact, I believe that the second prospect is more important and crucial than the second one below I will give more justification for my stance.

To begin with, any democratic government by definition ought to serve its people. In fact, it is the main idea of this regime which differs it from others. People demonstrate their will by giving their voices to one party or another. Perhaps, one of the best examples of this procedure is the president's election in the USA. Each candidate has his or her program, belongs to party or not. Citizens support a candidate who the most suits to them, their hopes and attitudes, and the chosen person promises to serve them. But, is it possible to rule the state by basing decisions solely on people's will?

Unfortunately, the answer on this question is "no" because today's society is not coherent mass which has one opinion but instead it is an elaborate and intricate structure which has many layers and consists of many nations, confessions, groups which have different heritage and visions of future. Moreover, often their interests are in conflict with each other as well. Consequently, it is literally impossible to base decisions on people's will because you will have to choose one group and discriminate the others. For instance, we may take a look at tax-cuts which were endorsed after the 2008 bank crisis in order to stimulate economy. On one hand this policy is positively perceived by working class, in particular, by people who have a stable financial situation and well-paid job. On the other hand, poor people seem to be discontent with the law because it does not alleviate their lives but instead worsen it because the polity collects less money and thus it is able to spend less on social programs. As a result, the elected officials have to base their decisions of their own judgment.

Furthermore, many problems with which government officials have to work require having special knowledge or education in order to be able to make a thoughtful decision about the issue. For example, if we create a next year budget, we need to have access to a wide-range of statistical data which, perhaps, is classified and thus unavailable for public, also we need to have at least a degree at economics and finance as well as expertise and knowledge about the way the government works. In this case, it is impossible and even dangerous to base decisions on people's will and thus officials ought to think for themselves.

In conclusion, in democratic society elected officials ought to base their decision of people’s will but it is literally impossible because of heterogeneous social structure of modern society and necessity to have a specific knowledge to address the issue. In reality those two viewpoints are reconciled due to the fact that demos by choosing officials demonstrate will and create overall direction and the elected officials use their own judgment to serve the voters the best way possible.