Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more influence on children's behavior.

Two views are stated in the issue. The first one implies, that media has a harmfull effect on children by showing violence. The latter one says, that parents and the peer groups are much powerful influence over children's behavior. I tend to incline on the former implication, mainly due to following reasons.

First of all, by showing violence, the media implicitly has sown a seed in viewer's mind of violence. While adults are less susceptible to this seed, children being immature are not that gaurded. Children are quick learners. They imbibe any external influence they are exposed to. And violence in media is not an exception to it. They tend to imitate what they see. A child might get angry and in that anger he might unknowingly do something that he saw in the media relating to violence.

As children don't know the gravity of their actions, they are less likely to think wisely before taking that action. Teenagers try to mimic things from movies just because they think that it is cool. Thus media definitely comes into the picture. If they show violence in higher proportions then it is bound to affect the minds of children. Reading that someone use a knife in a fight, imparts a negative impact on their cognitive thinking.

Although parents play an import role in child's development, the current scenario in which in most of the cases, both the parents are working, the parents really have very less time to look after their child. It is not possible in current corporate world to devote that much time towards the child. As a result, children are often left without a protective layers and learn things that they should not have learned in the first place.

On the other hand, peer groups do play a major part in shaping children. As they spend most of their time together, they influence each other to a larger extent. But as they themselves are of more or less of the same intellectual level, there is nothing to gaurd them from external influence.

Hence, due to all above points, it is advisable to the media not to show too much violence as they are also an important factor in shaping todays generation.