Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

What is the paramount quality an effective political leader should have? Some people argue that political leaders should always listen to the voice of the public even when it does not align with principle, whereas others believe that they should be consistent by prioritizing rules and regulations. While I think both of the arguments are quite extreme, I tend to agree more with the latter; political leaders should be firm on their belief in particular principles and objectives.

Firstly, when it comes to long-term political objectives, which requires patience and persistent public persuasion, it is the adamant and firm commitment of political leaders that enables any meaningful success in politics. Without Lincoln’s unwavering conviction, the practice of slavery would not have been removed from the America. If Martin Luther King has compromised with the opponents, the human rights of black people could not have been improved as much. If Roh Muhyun, the previous president of South Korea, has yield to the public’s fear of changing public health care, the Korean medical service would have remained unaffordable and substandard. As shown by a number of examples, a firm adherence to certain principle and political objectives is critical when a political leader engenders a groundbreaking change in the society.

Secondly, intransigency of political leaders is important because it could tremendously affect organizations that are relying on their decisions. Policies and regulations have a strong impact on private organizations, since they establish their strategies and operate based on them. Consider, for example, a political leader who is vacillate in whether or not increasing the amount of budget on welfare system. As he or she changes the former statement on the issue, according to the public’s opinion, a number of relevant organizations would encounter a huge risk of operating, due to the unstable governmental funding. Thus, if a political leader cannot properly support a number of organizations that are playing a critical role in the society, by being swayed by the public, he or she would not be considered effective.

Nevertheless, some may still argue that if a political leader does not listen to the public, what is the reason of being a ‘leader’ of the people. Further, some may even say political leaders are mere the representatives of the public. Although I agree with that political leaders should be attentive to pursuing of the well being of the public, I still insist that it can be only achieved by blindly following the voice of the public. The huge number of people does not necessarily guarantee the justification of their opinion and idea. We should remember that Adolf Hitler was appraised by a number of people. Thus, what we should ask for our political leaders is not simply to listen to the whimsical public, but to be committed to certain principles and objectives that could benefit the society, even if it does not seem so favorable by an immediate glance.

To sum, to be an effective leader, it is critical to be adamant and firmly committed to certain principles and objectives. Without such quality, one would not be able to bring changes through a long-term political objective, but only confuse many organizations that are relying on the policies and regulations.