Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Mohandas Gandhi said that “I think leadership meant muscles previously but now it means getting along with people.” In my opinion leader is a person who has potential to understand the issues of people whom he is leading and to act according to it. It doesn’t mean that a leader should not have his own mind but it is necessary to comply with people’s wishes to a reasonable extent.

By looking at the history we can observe that most of the leaders who were able to bring about some considerable change in the world are the one who penetrated among people and understood their minds. For ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.