Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

When it comes to the issue the purpose of education, some people believe that the academic education prepare students to have free mind. However, others have the opposite view and think that restrains students’ mind and spirit. As far as I am concerned, this matter is controversial and we must consider it from several aspects.

First let us take a look on why some disagree the formal education allows students to think freely. It is quite normal that a child—before going to school—has not the correct understanding of the reality, so he lives in limited world. The formal education assists him to become familiar with many academic areas, and know more about the real world. In addition, he can improve his critical thinking and make plenty of questions and ask them from teachers. So, the formal education not only does not limited students’ thinking but also help them to think about many things, which they do not know about them before going to the school.

A further point we must consider is that formal education provide a suitable condition, which allows people to develop their skills. I think that a small example can give some light to this topic. I think that there is not a better example than one who wants to be a great writer. He can stay at home and try to write a unique novel, while he surely cannot find a unique idea or at least how to expand it. However, the school lets him to become familiar with many striking writing of various writers, which spirit him. IN addition, he learns how to look at the world for creating the unique work art.

In contrast, in some areas the formal education imposes some facts on students. For instance, the students have to obey some regular in the schools like doing homework on time, making effort for gaining high grades in the test, and paying more time for study. These can be

All above evidence supports this fact that formal education allows people to think critically and also affect their spirit positively. Of course, as an English proverb goes “a coin has two sides”; therefore, those who disagree with this matter partially reasonable that the formal education limited students in some cases. Nevertheless, I believe that the formal education does not restrain students mind and spirit.