Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Regarding formal education, some people believe that it free people’s mind and spirit; others believe it tends to restrain the mind and spirit. Well think about Albert Einstein, would he develop the Theory of Relativity if he had been uneducated? The answer is negative. The formal education may restrain the wild imagination of people; however, it provides the foundation for the mind to think of more practical possibilities. Hence, my view is more closely align with that formal education helps free the mind.

Formal education free our mind and spirit. First, formal education frees us from ignorance. Formal education provides us the knowledge base on which we can think of ways of in order to solve problems and achieve our goals. For example, in order to save a patient, a doctor needs medical knowledge, which he has learned from medical school. Without formal education in medical science, one can have imagined whatever he wants, he will unlikely help with the patients. So, formal education free us from ignorance. Formal education provides us the sea of knowledge that we can use to solve all different problems.

In addition, formal education free us from limited resources. At school, we learn various ways of finding deeper and wider range of knowledge that we need. By doing so, we are able to get access to unlimited knowledge, which broadens our horizons and boosts our awareness of indefinite possibilities. Moreover, formal education strengthens our skills of critical thinking. We are guided to think of different ways of approaching the same issue and encouraged to wonder all kinds of possibilities. Therefore, formal education provides the mind with the knowledge base, ways of accessing to more resources and skills of critical thinking. Therefore, formal education free the mind with limitless possibilities.

Admittedly, formal education may restrain people’s wild imagination. While educators try to provide all kinds of knowledge and skills, they have to follow the curriculum, educational policies, say, NO Child Left Behind, and all kinds of standard such as Common Core Standards. Due to the policies and standards, students have to pass all kinds of test. Along with the journey of learning and testing, students’ mind may be circumscribed by the practical imaginations and solutions. However, while limiting the rambling imagination, formal education makes the imagination more meaningful. For example, ask two people, one is educated and the other one is not, why the apple is falling. Without the knowledge of physics, one can give you all kinds of explanations, but it will hardly touch the real issue. My point is that without education, people’s wild imagination is likely futile.

It is true that the wild imaginations could be inhibited, but formal education provides knowledge that promotes people’s imagination and creativity in a more feasible manner so as to solve all kinds of problems in life. So, formal education does not restrain the minds and spirits.