Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Science has indeed given us a more enlightened view of the world around us. The statement also asserts that there are people who believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever knew. It is merely because of the perception of these people that they find the world complex. Several reasons can be given to support that scientific discoveries has indeed simplified our world.

To begin with, anything unknown and new to knowledge always seems to be infinitely complex. It is the precarious paths ahead that daunt the peripatetic. Once things are well understood by people they never find it complicated, but edifying. Take for an example, parochial view of earth as being flat was immensely accepted. It was merely the narrow minded thinking which made people believe that earth is not round and it is the center of universe. They found Aristotle's claims complicated to assimilate. Thus they too disparaged science and averred that science only complicates things as we know.

Secondly, in terms of medical science, one can allege that frequent research and study reveal facts that rival each other. Like, whether to drink coffee or not, is running good for health or bad for knees in long term, does polished grains increase life span or they cause blood pressure problems etc. But, can they deny that all these researches and studies have increased the average life expectancy as compared to decades ago when people died of trite diseases like malaria and chicken pox.

Moreover, in terms of technology and space exploration, one can say that it was a better world when we only dreamed of flying in the sky, as the possibility that other planets can be colonized has made us ignore the sufferings of our own mother nature, the earth. However, they cannot daunt the fact that space exploration has given us profound understanding of how the world was created and why is it the way it is. This field might not prove itself to be of much use in present, but its future is promising, one can aver that the possibility of being able to travel to other universe and colonizing their gives only a benign feeling.

Additionally, technology has made us dedicate our time to more productive tasks than the chores of daily basis. This availability of leisure time made it possible for us to sit and give thought to how lives are changed by science. The seamless incorporation of technology into our daily lives made life easier for us. Conversely, think of the times when researches took months only to go through all the books in library. This era of internet is only proving that human are now a days more aware of the world around them. Our cognition of world is slowly reveling itself from the layers of abstraction that nature put on it.

Conclusively, on the basis of contrast in lives that people lead 100 years ago and the lives they lead now we can compel that science has only simplified the universe for us. And the areas that appear complex are yet to be explored.