Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Education on morality or logics has been a matter of debate throughout the eons of human society. We find that the need for moral education an overpowering one. Moral didactism was very common in the past when nations used to be based on the concept of morality (through religion). However, I believe that education on logics encompasses not only education on morals, but also empowers our children to decide the requirement of these morals. Thus, education of logics is sufficient in itself to produce a moral society.

The belief that teaching morality alone as foundation of education can result in students' inability question these morals for their rationale. With an education comprising art of logical reasoning, we can open the minds of our youngs ones to question the very foundation of our social beliefs. This gives them the power to decide with their own intelligence the wrong from right, without the need for a moral code.

The perils of solely teaching morals is blatantly evident in religious wars of past and present. In these wars where the factions were mainly fighting against others to protect their religious ideologies, they have failed to look beyond the necessity of such a fight. In this fight, they hold their moral dictats as absolute and threaten to extirpate anyone who tries to question the logic of such a fight. This ignorance is the result of people being taught only moral codes without any logical debates on them.

Additionlly, education with logics as foundation has the power to create newer morals as the society evolves. We can make ammends to our past lacking morals. For example, the fight of equal rights for LGBT community has made us realize the unnecessity of having a generic moral stand on sexual orientation. Throughout our history, LGBT community has been shunned on the basis of religious texts, which we now realize are completely open to interpretations, don't force us to pass moral judgements in matters of sexual orientation. It is encouraging to see that many world nations are moving forward and eliminating discriminatory rules based on logical considerations of no difference between "us" and "them". Had we decided to be moral about these considerations, as we have been in the past without a logical deliberation, we would have not chosen to free this oppressed community just like in the past.

However, an education on morality is also sometimes necessary. Proponents of such belief put forth the idea that if our children are not taught what is right and what is wrong, they will engage in immoral acts as they grow up. This stand however, debatable, stems from the concept that we come as clean slate in this world and that we must be taught the right actions from wrong to act morally in our lives. But even this stand is debatable, for we know that even children don't need to be taught not to do immoral acts. A sane child can for himself decide, just by the virtue of growing up in society, that immoral acts such as "lying", "disrespecting" are reprehensible. There is no need for an explicit education for these traits to be imbibed by a child. Hence, an argument for seperate moral didactism is found wanting.

In conclusion, education opens our children's mind to the world. It enhances their understanding of society on the whole. But we must in no way restrict their understanding by enforcing a moral code that we find fits our description of society. Through an education in logics, they must be empowered to decide how and what they want the moral to be like the society that they grow into. That to me, is not only "moral" but also "logical".