Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

Politics is filled with controversial arguments throughout human history. Great thinkers such as Plato or Karl Marx had their ideal of how politics should work and firmly believes human civilization should move towards their ideal. In reality, urgent current issue like poverty, sanitation, starvation, are usually contradicted with those idea and requires compromise from all parties involved. I believe the pursuit of an ideal is always the motivation to the prosperity of human race, while reaching common ground and compromises are often the pragmatic method to achieve this goal.

In history, great philosophers and politicians advocated various theories on how human society and government should evolve and develop. Plato, ancient Greek philosopher, believed that ideal kingdom should lead by philosopher king. Karl Marx, eminent thinker in 20 century, claimed that communism is the goal human society should aim for and capitalism was build on exploiting of working class. Many modern country also adopted the various form of democracy, which certainly have its merits and shortcomings. Furthermore, we have ordinary people advocates their politics ideals such as feminism, eradicating discrimination towards sexual orientation, race and age. All of above are different form of pursuit of an ideal, They formed the foundation of today's world and direct us to further strive for a better tomorrow.

While these ideal might be compatible in some cases, they are often drastically contradicted to each other. We have seen war between Communism and western country. These wars brought enormously pain to people involved. In these cases, reaching to a common ground will largely diminishing the disaster brought on these countries.

Even we temporally forget the fighting between different political ideals, there are tensions within one political government. Providing more job to industrial workers might be contradicted to the need of environmentalist. In this situation, insisting on any form of ideal would not be the most rational decision. Discussion and compromising would be the most reasonable method a government can undertake.

Overall, pursuit of an ideal should always be the motivation of the politicians in any government. Human need a direction towards tomorrow. However, in order to achieve this ideal, we have to communicate to different ideas and reach the common ground. Insisting on one ideal would do harm to all parties involved in the issue.