Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Competition is defined as an act of doing something in-order to achieve the goal by defeating someone. Whereas, co-operation can be defined as working together to achieve a common goal. While at first, co-operation seem to be the most humanitarian way of getting tasks done but, it might not be the best way always. The reason could be that some tasks simply cannot be done together and some task need a passion and vigor that cannot be generated through co-operation alone.

Some of the pressing problems of the present world like pollution, increasing population, depleting resources etc.

require solutions that are fueled by desire to be the best. Take the example of Auto industry, there is a race amongst the Automobile manufacturer's to produce the cleanest, safest and cost effective vehicle. Tesla and Honda are leading the competition by introducing models that run entirely on electricity, thus playing their part in conserving environment while competing for bigger market share. This is one of the cases where competition is beneficial. Pushing people and organizations to come up with more innovative solutions. For children, getting accustomed to competition could help in preparing for their adult life and bringing that attitude of striving to perform better. A student who secures good grades than others gets motivated to keep excelling in the field. This feeling of competition would thus lead to create more leaders and individuals that are highly self-motivated. But, it may have a downside also. Too much focus on competition could make the child more self centered and unfit to work in the group.

Co-operation helps one to understand the fact that what one person can do can be done in a more efficient and faster manner by teaming up with others. Most of the task in the daily life require working or interacting with others. If the child is not made to understand the importance of co-operation then they would be unable to engage in these day-to-day activities. Therefore, children must be taught co-operation so that they imbibe the importance of working together. An example of this co-operation could be the United Nations Organization. It is where each nation sends it best minds and resource persons who come together and work on a common issue.

To sum the argument, we require a good mix of both, competition to generate ideas and kickstart innovation and co-operation to run those innovation to fruition. Focusing on either one of them would generate a sub-optimal result.