Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

I do not agree with the following statement because it argues that, because sports and movie stars are paid millions of dollars, they should be expected to act as role models for the young people of society. This argument is flawed because it assumes that the money that these celebrities are given go toward their good behavior and, it also assumes that these celebrities are the main influencers of young people today.

Being a sports or movie star is, in fact, one of the highest paying jobs today; however it is not for their good behavior or their leadership skills, but rather for the skill or talent that they have. Sports and movie stars are highly praised for their exceptional athleticism and/or acting ability. These skills are so exceptional that less than 5% of the people in society can reach this proficiency. They are unique individuals, and because they can play sports or act better than a majority of the population, they get paid more than the average athlete or actor. Their skill and talent are the main reasons why they are paid so much. It is not to reinforce good values and behaviors onto them.

Young people (pre-teen to pre-adult) are very easily-influenced and often instill similar values and behaviors of those they look up to. While these can be the sports and movies stars, studies have shown that main influencers of a person's character, especially in young people, are their providers and peers. Values are often instilled within a person at a young age by the parents or guardians. They shape the way their children understand and perceive reality before they even know what reality means. As they grow older, young people spend less and less time with their parents and more and more time with their friends and classmates. Because they spend so much time with these people, they end up acting or talking similarly. Young people have tangible interactions with both their parents/guardians and peers. They are actual lived experiences. Kids may never ever meet or even talk to sports or movie stars in real life; therefore, they cannot fully adopt their values and behaviors.

With the growth of globalization and the widespread use of social media, sports and movie stars have become more well-known around the world. Their faces can be see on billboard ads, tv commercials, and social media streaming. While celebrities' constant virtual presence in society does have the potential to subconsciously influence young people, the unrealistic lifestyle and impossible-to-obtain skill sets that they have make them perfect for admiration, but unreasonable to actually follow and mimic. Therefore, it is unreasonable to think that they should be the main drivers of good behavior in society.

Overall, I do not agree with this statement because it expects money to be the main driver of ideal behavior in society and underestimates the influence that real life interactions have on young people.