"Sports stars & movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility." -

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing & supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Motivation and Inspiration are two very crucial things which help us in becoming who we are and what defines our character. As a result, people who asipire to become actors or good sportsmen often draw lot of inspiration from the people who have excelled in these fields. But, very often these role models are often indulged in activites which are considered as immoral and disappointing. However, enforcing a societal responsibility on these role models for maintaining an ideal behaviour just because they are paid millions of dollars would be something very wrong.

We all know, none of us can be perfect, but yes we definitely strive to attain perfection. Hence, expecting the same from these famous stars is something very ambitious. Each of us have their fair share of negative traits, but these cannot be simpply removed just because of the fact that we are paid millions of dollars. These negative traits are the very part of us and moreover some way or the other these might also have been responsible in reaching the stardom. Thus, putting a burden of social responsibility on these famous people for maintaing their conduct is a sort of coercion.

In addition, Sports Stars or Movie Stars are paid millions of dollars because of their talent and excellence in their fields. Nowhere in the contract they sign state that they are also responsible for a societal responsibility for maintaining good conduct in the society so as to become ideal role models for the young people. It depends solely upon the person to decide whether he should be curbing his bad habits in public or not. On the contrary, the desire for maintaining one's image as as ideal role model comes solely from the inside. When a person reaches an epitome of success in public eyes, they become self conscious of the fact that they are being watched over by a million people and moreover they are very much aware of the fact that many young people consider them their role models. Thus, maintaining a good conduct for keeping a consistent image of an ideal role model comes from the very inner core of the heart. Thus, they need not be forced to fulfill this societal responsibility just because of the fact they are being paid millions of dollars.

Most importantly, giving all the burden on these sports stars or actors for behaving ideally is also wrong. The youngsters should develop their own conscience. It is also a signficant role on their part to only take inspiration and try to follow the positive traits of these imminent persons. Considering the fact that no human can ever be perfect, they should put a filter so as to ignore the negative traits.

However, the fact that young people tend to pick up bad habits from their role models very quickly can also not be ignored. Thus, in this case enforcing a societal responsibility on them would help in alleviating the problem to a pretty good extent. This will help these imminent people to atleast give a thought about their conduct in the public.

Hence, in short, expecting the famous people to adhere to social responsibilities just because of the fact that they are being paid huge amounts of money is wrong. There is also a crucial role which has to be played on the part of the youngsters as well rather than giving the entire burden on these imminent people for maintaing a good conduct in public just because of the fact they are source of inspiration for numerous youngsters.