"Sports stars & movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility." -Write a response i

Today is the time when movie stars and sports stars are glorified to the level of super humans owing to their success. This exaltation makes some people to believe that the celebrities are also obliged to behave as role models to the youth in return of the fame and wealth accumulated as a result of the acceptance of common public.

Many movie and sports stars started their journey as poor and financially challenged but the advertisement contracts and similar opportunities owing to the love of public for them changed their fate forever. It is true that it is the love and good will of public who gives an elite status to sports and movie participants but does this justify the expectations of public from them to behave as roll models? Perhaps yes to some extent, as it is said "With great power comes great responsibility". If the powerful and famous would turn their backs on society, this would be a disaster for the morality. Many young people look at such famous celebrities and emulate them so closely to reach the similar social status. The impact of actions of these celebrities on youth is enormous and cannot be ignored. For example, a movie star smoking cigarettes also unintentionally encourages his naive fans to try smoking. They find it cool and a characteristic of success.

Despite of all above expectations, celebrities are entitled to live their life in complete freedom as normal humans do. Expecting them to behave in a manner that suits society is an attempt to curtail their liberties. They should not be expected to pretend to fulfill this moral obligation, instead youth and public should be made aware so that they do not follow celebrities blindly. Public should be intelligent enough to discern the right and wrong in their actions and should always draw motivation from their good deeds.

The willingness to give back to society is appreciable if it comes from within. For example, Sachin Tendulkar, a legendary cricketer never advertises products that he thinks are potentially harmful for the youth. Thus celebrities should not be put under pressure of fulfilling the social obligation but should be appreciated if they do so.

Thus in the conclusion, I believe the celebrities have the right to lead a life they think is best for them ignoring the expectations of the public but if they fulfill this obligation that actually makes them super humans