Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively

The author of the statement believes that students should always question the teachings conferred on them. The process of questioning includes many benefits such, as it prompts the mind of students to work and not accept anything until they are reasonably proven. I agree with the statement as it is advisable in several respects:

First and foremost, in any question, there is a bit of an answer, if questions are asked properly. Hence the process of making questions also is needed to be learned by the students, as it is a lead to find decent answers. When does a student learn to ask proper questions? In the home and school where the most teachings are taking place. Therefore, asking questions about the things which is learnt by the students help them to improve their question-makings in order to find answers more efficiently.

At the same time, passivity in learning negatively affects the education of the students. If students face a paradox and do not ask a question, there would be two looming consequence for them. First, the students never learn to rely independently on their own logic faculty to analyze the facts; always there would be a need of a consultant, and decisions would be hard for such students to take independently. Secondly, the facts would not be established in the mind of students who merely accept the teachings without asking any questions. Doubt is a way to believe deeply in something; when a teaching can tolerate the crucible of doubt, it emerges brighter and more enduring than accepting it passively.

Furthermore, unquestionable acceptance of some facts can lead even to catastrophes and should not be pursued at all. Consider what happens in the Al-Qaeda and currently in the Islamic Government in Syria. Without the questions, young people are brainwashed to do inhuman things with other people and the “paradise” would awaits them. In every teaching may be some degrees of mistakes, biases, and prejudices. Questioning every teaching conferred to student, acts as a filter that such biases cannot pass through and that makes the teaching purer.

In short, the students should ask what they are taught because: 1. learning how to ask per se. 2. Establishment of what they learn in their minds. 3. Strike doubts to any misinformation given to them.