The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Can a nation be regarded as a great nation only on the basis of the achievements of a handful of people or does it depend on only the prosperity and happiness of the people? It is clearly evident that discontent among the people disintegrates a nation. Therefore, general well-fare of the people is the best indicator of the greatness of a nation.

A nation in which most of its people who are living below the poverty line, would find it difficult to progress. If progress is hindered, the development of the nation stagnates. This would lead to a lack of education, medical care, slower economic growth, lower literacy rates, male and female inequalities, all of this affecting the greatness of a nation. Furthermore, there would be corruption among the leaders of the nation which would affect the well-being of the nation. If the people are unhappy, they tend to migrate to other places outside the country where the can live more peacefully.

The stronger the economy of a nation, greater is the nation among its competitors. For example, comparing the economy of United States and India, both having huge and diverse economies, the GDP (Gross Domestic Product) and Nation Income of the U.S is way higher than that of India. This indicates that the standard of living of the people in U.S is much better than the people living in India, making the U.S a great nation. Therefore, better living conditions of people in a nation, makes a nation greater.

Advancement in Technology due to the contributions of scientist helps in the development of the people of the nation. But these achievements cannot be achieved without the help of quality education and advanced research institutes, which in turn a result of a prosperous nation. Even though the scientist have a breaking discovery in technology, lack of research institutes would result in them moving to developed countries to carry out further work. Hence, they would not be contributing anything to the progress of the nation.

In case of a ruler, if he is not concerned with the well-fare of the people and the nation as a whole, no matter how many achievements he makes, they would be of no use or even could hinder the progress of nation. For example, a demagogue, no matter how many advancements he has brought up in his nation, if the people are not satisfied and unhappy, he would be overthrown.

Finally, if the people of a nation are not unhappy and living standards are unsatisfactory, the achievements and popularity of scientist, rulers or artist of the nation are of no use to the nation because a nation is determined by its people.