The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What makes a nation great. How could the greatnes be measured? Does it only pertain to the tangible features of life. The nation's greatness could be measured by several indicators along with the welfare of the people including the achievements of the rulers, scientists and artists.

The claim is that the welfare of the general public is the surest indicator of the greatness of a nation. The term greatness can be confusing that it can refer to the economical position of the nation among the countries of the globe, whereas it could be sevaral other factors as the quality of life, the freedom of life enjoyed by the citizens, crime ratings etc. These various factors apparently has some sort of interdependence in that, a financially well of nation is likely to have most of its population working, thereby contributing to a higher quality of life. A prosperous society, in turn is likely to develop more sophisticated thoughts and to uphold values such as freedom and equality.

The greatness of a nation surely is to be reflected in its intellectual output. A nation having high achieving scientists and artists are representative of the education system afforded to its people. Not only does it certify the education system alone, it provides a testment to the oppurtunities available for the public to venture into their fields of interests. The scientist or artist, who makes achievements is not doing it all alone. The availability of the system to support them, economic funding and an environment conducive to intellectual pursuits are inevitable. More pronounced is the implication of intellectual achievemnts on indicating the greatness of a nation if the achievers rose from across general public, than when the achievers are only cronies.

Not only are intellectual achievements, but also are administrative achievements an indicator of the greatness of anation. As with the intellectual achievements, or even more, the administrative achievemnts of the rulers are definitely the outcome of a collective effort from the grass root levels. This would undoubtedly be the case when considering a democratic nation with several tiers of governing.

Even though the above points are true in a democratic world, an autocratic nation could well posses the above qualities and still be lacking when coming to concerns such as freedom enjoyed by the public. It could then be a case that the cronies are afforded all the results of the welfare of the nation depriving the general population what they deserve.