The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The definition of a great nation can be varied depending on the arbitrary standards of individuals. However, it is clear to see why the achievement of the rulers, artist, or scienties are the surest indicator of a great nation. I would like to define the great nation as the country where can bring positive benefits to other countries. In this essay, I will argue why the achievements of elites are a more reliable indicator of a great nation.

Admittedly, the welfare of people is a good indicator of the level of democracy in the country. When a nation provides a social service such as tuition fee for tertiary education, generic health insurance, and long legally protected vacation, people’s life will be much more comfortable and safe. However, this does not provide any good to other nations except people living in the country themselves. Therefore, it might be erroneous to say that the general welfare of its people can indicate that the country is great.

In contrast, the achievements of rulers, artists, or scientist have specific outcomes which flourish the human lives. The invention of a light bulb by Edison in the U.K improved human culture into another realm. Thanks to the invention, we can read books even when it is dark outside. We could be released from the constraints about the time use. Additionally, the invention of iPhone, enabled our life to be more closely connected with internet. This opened a new way of communication, commerce, and resulted in development of a new industry using a mobile application. For instance, people does not need to visit banks to transfer money. The only thing needed is just one click on the phone and it will say you had succeeded in that transfer, without any commission fee. For this reason, the achievement of scientists is the surest indicator of the great nation as this brings huge impact on the human society.

Even if some say, the excellent welfare system can be a good model for other countries, so it gives benefits too, but it is not necessarily right. Not only is it not sure whether other countries can adapt the same welfare system nor even if it is plausible, it is not proven whether the change will bring positive results to other countries. For instance, the high welfare requires more tax income from its citizen. If the United States start to gather tax from its people as much as the Norway government does, there will be huge concerns about reduced consumer spending and following economic recession. Likewise, the welfare system has differences between countries depending on its social, economic structure. Therefore, the welfare country cannot meet the standard of great nation in this sense.

In sum, rather than the general welfare of a country, the achievements of leaders are the surest indicator that the country is a great country as this can improve the human civilization and benefit many people around the world.